Slow Cooker Orange Pork Chops

DSCF4812
Five days out of seven, I’m lazy. By seven o’clock, I just want to watch Jeopardy and Wheel of Fortune while food magically presents itself to me.

[Yes, Jeopardy. Yes, Wheel of Fortune. Yes, I’m apparently sixty seven years old.]

And I’m OK with it!

So, to simplify life I often find myself relying on my slow cooker.  The fact that this recipe relies on the world’s easiest method of cooking, plus the fact that it only requires 5 ingredients makes it a winner.

I hope you get to try it some time! But be sure to eat it while watching Jeopardy & Wheel of Fortune. You know. For the full effect.

:-)

Slow Cooker Orange Pork Chops

This recipe originally called for country style pork ribs, but my freezer provided me only with pork chops, so I improvised. You can find it here, from Amy at Very Culinary!

Serves 4
Prep time: 15 minutes
Cook time: 4-5 hours (high)

Ingredients
• 3 pounds of boneless pork chops
• 1 jar (10 ounce) orange marmalade
• 1 jar (8 ounce) hoisin sauce
• 1 tablespoon bottled minced garlic
• 1 teaspoon toasted sesame oil

Directions
1 – Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium; coat with cooking spray. Brown the chops on both sides, and place them in a 4-quart slow cooker.

2 – In a medium bowl, combine marmalade, hoisin sauce, garlic, and sesame oil. Pour 3/4 of the sauce over the chops in the slow cooker and stir to coat the meat with sauce.

3 – Cover and cook on high heat for 4 hours. Baste with the juices a couple of times.

4 – Transfer meat to a serving platter and spoon the remaining 1/4 of the original sauce onto the chops.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

