Brown Sugar Bacon Wrapped Chicken

BrownSugarBaconWrappedChickenY’all. I know its been a while since my last post (the craziness of Final Exams.. and coming up on graduation!). But, as I study I keep the TV on low for background noise.

I kid you not, I just looked up at the TV and watched a man make a praline shell, dollop some vanilla icecream in said praline shell, then garnish with strawberries and blackberries… and…. wait for it……

bacon.

I immediately wished I’d had the volume on so I knew whether to love this man, or institutionalize him. Don’t get me wrong – I love bacon and sweet stuff together. But, I guess I just don’t see it on vanilla ice cream with berries…

But. Who am I to judge?

Anyway, this little tidbit reminded me that I had this yummy sweet & salty bacon recipe to share. And productively procrastinating studying is so much better than continuing to watch some guy put breakfast bits on desserts.

The below recipe is more or less a guideline. I didn’t measure out before I commenced to sprinkling sugar, or counting the number of pieces of bacon, so you can use your best judgement pending on the size of the chicken breast, too!

Brown Sugar Bacon Wrapped Chicken

Ingredients:

4 flattened, boneless, skinless chicken breasts

3 tsp garlic powder

3 tsp paprika

3 tsp salt

8 slices of bacon (about half a pack)

1/4 cup brown sugar

Step by Step:

1- Mix together your garlic powder, onion powder, salt, and paprika. Rub it onto the chicken breasts.

2 – Roll up the breasts then wrap bacon around it, about 2 slices per piece of chicken.

3 – Sprinkle the brown sugar all over the chicken and bacon, and rub it in!

4 – Bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes. Turn the temperature up to 450 and let them go for another 3-5 minutes, to make the bacon crispy! Keep an eye on it though so it doesn’t burn, and make sure the internal temperature is up to 160 and juices run clear.

Side note: Although I sprinkled on my brown sugar after wrapping in bacon, you could instead put the sugar directly onto the chicken and then wrap with bacon. The only reason I suggest this is because when you’re eating, and you cut into this juicy, fantastic chicken with your knife, sometimes the bacon seperates, and you get bites that aren’t as sweet and delicious. So, if you rub the sugar on the chicken, it should be pretty tasty with the garlic and salt and paprka and you won’t be too upset if you miss a bacon bite from it!

….Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

