Catching Up

Three day weekends always mess with my internal clock. It feels like Monday and although my brain knows its Tuesday, the rest of my habits are all thrown off. I’ll get back on the wagon sooner or later. I hope everyone’s Memorial Day weekend was as good as mine and had great weather to accompany it! It was so good spending time with my family and honoring those who have fought to defend our freedom, while making the ultimate sacrifice. I’m so blessed to live in this nation and so grateful to those in the service from my own family, among my friends, and those that I’ve never met. Β “Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.”

The three days went by pretty quick. Friday night I drove til the map turned blue and made it home after work. Traffic to the beach was bumper to bumper, of course. Β The moon was starting to come up and it was enormous, so I had to take a picture. (Sorry Mom. Hey, I didn’t text and drive! I’ve never gotten a “dont snap pictures and drive” lecture, so…)DSCF5502

Saturday my Dad and I did some shopping and tried to avoid the crazy crowds. I sat on the porch, soaked in some gorgeous weather and read a few magazines.

House sized sweet tea. It's not a bad thought.
House sized sweet tea. It’s not a bad thought.
Sweet Magnolia blooms of Carolina :)
Sweet Magnolia blooms of Carolina :)

Sunday, we went to church and listened to a great service. We stopped at Costco on the way home. Have I told you how much I love Costco? There’s something ridiculously (and shamefully) American about buying 300 packs of snack pretzels, gym equipment, and a new laptop all in one stop. Plus, let’s not forget the samples. So, after I had properly lunched on samples we headed to the beach! First trip of the year [really, that’s shameful compared to when I was growing up. Beach day in February? I miss them.]

I had my Senior Pictures done at that gazebo in high school! Time flies. I'm old. On that note, hand me my collagen anti-oxidant anti-aging eye cream.. Sigh.
I had my Senior Pictures done at that gazebo in high school! Time flies. I’m old. On that note, hand me my collagen anti-oxidant anti-aging eye cream.. Sigh.

Fishing

Beach1

DSCF5537

 

DSCF5541

Beach Collage

For Memorial Day, my parents had work so I headed up the road a bit to visit my Pop Pop. He’s a retired pilot and he lives on a small airport with a grass runway across from a horse farm… It’s a pretty sweet setup! (Yep. This girl has piloted an aircraft thanks to him… Frightening, I know). I made us burgers, we had watermelon, and I spent a great afternoon hearing so many incredible stories. I told him one day we’re gonna have to write his biography. More or less, it’d be an inspirational best seller.

 

MemDayCollage

 

 

I headed back home Monday night and am just trying to get back into the work week. I hope to share a few recipes this week: Pecan Crusted Chicken, a Tomato Pie and even a [healthy!] chocolate lava cake for one…. You heard me! Lava cake. Healthy. All yours. :)

 

Leave a Reply

