Tomato Pie

I LOVE TOMATOES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

TomatoesCollage
Ok, good, now that that’s out of my system.

Tomatoes and I go way back. Apparently, when my mom was pregnant with me she’d eat huge bowlfuls of cherry tomatoes from my Grandma’s garden. I remember one summer when I was younger, my grandparents took me to a farm where we picked bushels of tomatoes and had them all summer. I would take them out of the refrigerator, sprinkle a little salt, and eat it like an apple. (I love the faces non-tomato lovers make when I tell them that. Priceless.)

But, I promise you this is such a delicious tomato pie! I made it last week before my trip home for the weekend and everyone loved it. Hope you do too!

It’s really simple!

Start with a pre-made pie crust, cook it according to package directions, and layer in some cheese.

Cheesey goodness.
Cheesey goodness.

Next up, some sliced tomatoes! (Don’t eat ’em all before you get them in the pan).

OK. There were originally more tomatoes... I can't help it! So yummy!
OK. There were originally more tomatoes… I can’t help it! So yummy!

Then, layer on some tasty caramelized onions and fresh oregano and basil. Sprinkle a little garlic, you know, for good measure.

DSCF5476

Lastly, you’ll spread a cheesey mixture right on the top (I’ll give you the recipe in just a bit) and sprinkle with bacon bits.

The pre-cooked stage doesn't look so appetizing, but I promise it turns into a bubbly cheesey good time.
The pre-cooked stage doesn’t look so appetizing, but I promise it turns into a bubbly cheesey good time.

Bake it up in the oven at 350, ’til the tops brown and bubbly. Mine took about 35 minutes. Enjoy!

Cheesey tomato deliciousness.
Cheesey tomato deliciousness.


Ingredients:

  • 1 9-inch pie shell
  • 1/2 yellow onion, chopped
  • 3-4 tomatoes, sliced
  • 1/4 cup sliced basil (about 8 leaves)*
  • 2 cups grated cheese (combination of sharp cheddar and Monterey Jack, Mozerella and Parmesan)
  • 3/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 2 tbsp bacon bits
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • garlilc powder

Step by Step:

1 Preheat oven to 350° and bake the shell for about 8 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool while completing next steps.

2 After slicing your tomatoes (~1/4″ thick), lay them on paper towels and sprinkle with a little salt to drain off the moisture. Allow to rest 30 minutes, and remove any remaining seeds before putting into the pie.

3 Next, melt butter over medium high heat and saute’ your onions until they’re translucent.

Sprinkle the bottom of the pre-cooked pie shell with 1/4 cup shredded cheese. Layer on your tomato slices and then the caramelized onions. Sprinkle the oregano and basil on top.

4 In a medium bowl, mix together the remaining grated cheese, mayonnaise, garlic powder and a sprinkling of salt and freshly ground black pepper. Spread this over the tomatoes. Add bacon bits!

5 Place in oven and bake until browned and bubbly, about 30-35 minutes.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

