Bruschetta Mozzarella Chicken Roll Ups

Thanks to the gorgeous weather, I’ve been trying to get up and out of the office more often during the day to take a few walk breaks. There’s a neighborhood right by our office that’s absolutely beautiful, with old, knotty oak trees, a full, leafy canopy to keep me cool in the shade, and often little deer in people’s yards or a friendly kitten begging to be pet.Bruschetta Mozzarella Chicken Roll UpsMeanwhile, I walk and wonder what my own cats are doing at home. This morning I woke up to Luna running full speed through my room, knocking herself into walls and against furniture. I jolted out of bed in a foggy daze to figure out what was wrong with her, and there she was with part of a brown paper bag stuck around her shoulders and neck. Like, the part of the brown shopping bag where the bag meets the handle. She managed to get herself stuck in that…. Literally, stuck, with part of the bag still attached like a cape. After I freed her, I couldn’t help but laugh.

Never a dull moment. That’s not to say they don’t have their helpful moments. Like last week when I was getting ready for bed. I was sitting on the couch and I hear what sounded like rain. I looked out the window, but it wasn’t raining… Both Stella and Luna creeped down the hallway to the water heater closet, suspiciously. I followed them, opened the door, and there my water heater goes spilling water throughout the hallway, nonstop. Long story short, maintenance came and had to replace some pieces and parts, but thank goodness the cats led me to what the problem was, otherwise I may have woke up in a flood.

Anyway, none of that has anything to do with this delicious recipe I’m sharing this morning. I’ll get to the point – it’s easy, it’s really quick, and perfect for a simple weeknight meal. I threw it together thanks to a jar of prepared bruschetta in the cabinet, and mozzarella in the fridge. I hope you get a chance to try it!

Bruschetta Mozzarella Chicken Roll Ups

Ingredients:

2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, pounded/flattened out

2 tablespoons prepared bruschetta

1 fresh mozzarella ball

2 tablespoons italian breadcrumbs

dried basil and dried garlic

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Be sure your chicken breasts are nice and thin, having been pounded out and flattened. This will ensure even cooking in the oven.

Bruschetta Mozzarella Chicken Roll Ups

Spoons the bruschetta down the middle of the chicken. (It will spread out when you roll it up, so you don’t want it coming out of the sides).

Bruschetta Mozzarella Chicken Roll Ups

Next, slice the mozzarrella and lay it down the middle of the chicken.

DSC_0446

Lightly sprinkle on about a teaspoon of dried basil, and a teaspoon of dried garlic.

Carefully, roll the chicken up slowly. If you have toothpicks, you can put that through the middle to ensure they hold. I didn’t have any, so I just layed the seam of the roll face down.

Bruschetta Mozzarella Chicken Roll Ups

Place your chicken roll ups on a greased baking dish, sprinkle on italian bread crumbs evenly, and bake for 30-35 minutes.

Bruschetta Mozzarella Chicken Roll Ups

Enjoy!
asouthernsilverlining.wordpress.com

2 thoughts on “Bruschetta Mozzarella Chicken Roll Ups

  1. this sounds fabulous- my sister would love it! If you’re interested, I’d love for you to share a post at the a blog link up I’m hosting today. All you need is a URL of a post you’d like to contribute. It’s a great little circle of bloggers!
    xoxo K

Leave a Reply

